Kartik Fine Arts


36th year Art festival 2010 - Inaugural Day - 1st December, 2010

Welcome Readers.

Kartik Fine Arts' 36th year Art festival 2010 was inaugurated with color and grandeur.

Shri. L. Sabaretnam, Chairman, welcomed one and all. The festival was presided by Honorable Justice Shri. M. Chockalingam and Shri. K. Alauddin , IAS inaugurated the festival. Padmasri Smt. Aruna Sairam was the Guest of Honor.

The highlight of the evening was the Conferment of Isaiperoli to Shri. J. Vaidhyanathan disciple of "Sangeetha Kalanidhi" Shri. Dr. T.K. Murthy and also the son of legendary Shri.D.K. Jayaraman. It is interesting to know that the Isaiperoli is given for the first time to a Mridangam artist. The coveted Nadanamamani was given to Smt. Lavanya Sankar, disciple of Smt. K.J. Sarasa, stands testimony to the efforts in their respective fields.

Smt. Aruna Sairam felicitated the Awardees and 1200 artists have been given the platform to perform under the Kartik Fine Arts banner.

The “Award of Excellence 2010” was given to Shri. Mudhra Bhaskar and D.K. Pattammal Award of excellence was given to Ms.Amrutha Venkatesh who also sang the invocatory prayer for the evening festival.

Shri.K.M. Narasimham, Vice President proposed the vote of thanks.

This festival is sponsored by the India Cements Limited along with Saba Foundation. It is a public private partnership with Indian Oil Corporation and Chennai petroleum also offering their support.

The inaugural function was followed by a Bharathanatyam recital by Kumari. Subanjali Sadgurudas disciple of Shri. Narasimhachari and Smt. Vasanthalakshmi. The programme was well received with Shri. Naramsimhachari’s soulful singing and Smt. Vasanthalakshmi on the nattuvangam along with her orchestral team.

The Kartik Fine Arts promotes Classical Music, Dance and Drama and I welcome our readers to see the website for more details.

Kausalya Srinivasan

back to news home